SHIRE OF MOORA

MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF COUNCIL

HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS, MOORA

25 OCTOBER 2023

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ı.	DECLARATION OF OPENING / ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS	2
	I.I DECLARATION OF OPENINGI.2 DISCLAIMER READING	
2.	ATTENDANCE / APOLOGIES / APPROVED LEAVE OF ABSENCE	2
3.	ELECTION OF PRESIDENT	3
4.	ELECTION OF DEPUTY PRESIDENT	4
5.	PUBLIC QUESTION TIME	4
6.	PETITIONS / DEPUTATIONS / PRESENTATIONS	4
7.	APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE	4
8.	ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE PRESIDING MEMBER	5
٥	CLOSURE OF MEETING	5

I. <u>DECLARATION OF OPENING / ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS</u>

I.I DECLARATION OF OPENING

The Chief Executive Officer officially declared the meeting open at 5.30pm, welcomed Shire Freeman Cynthia McMorran and visitors, read the acknowledgement of Country, and assumed the chair until the election of the President.

Acknowledgement of Country

I would like to acknowledge the traditional custodians of the land we are meeting on today, the Yued people, and pay our respects to Elders past, present, and emerging.

1.2 DISCLAIMER READING

No responsibility whatsoever is implied or accepted by the Shire of Moora for any act, omission or statement or intimation occurring during this meeting.

It is strongly advised that persons do not act on what is heard at this meeting and should only rely on written confirmation of Council's decision, which will be provided within fourteen (14) days of this meeting.

2. ATTENDANCE / APOLOGIES / APPROVED LEAVE OF ABSENCE

ATTENDANCE

TL Lefroy - President

SJ Gilbert - Deputy President

DV Clydesdale-Gebert - Councillor TL Errington - Councillor TW Dugan - Councillor

GW Robins - Chief Executive Officer
MM Murray - Executive Support Officer

APPROVED LEAVE OF ABSENCE

KM Seymour - Councillor

APOLOGIES

SA Bryan - Councillor

PUBLIC

Cynthia McMorran AM JP, Shire Freeman Cynthia Brassington JP Lyn Hamilton Melissa Dugan

3. **ELECTION OF PRESIDENT**

The procedure for electing a President is set out in Schedule 2.3, Division 1, of the Local Government Act 1995. The election is to be conducted as the first matter at the first meeting of the Council following an ordinary election, with the Council to elect a councillor to fill the office for a two-year term.

Nominations for the office are to be received in writing to the Chief Executive Officer before the meeting, or during the meeting before the close of nominations. Nominations close at the meeting at a time announced by the Chief Executive Officer.

Councillors are to vote on the matter by secret ballot as if they were electors voting at an election. The votes cast are to be counted, and the successful candidate determined in accordance with Schedule 4.1.

If, when the votes cast are counted, there is an equality of votes between two or more candidates, the count is to be discontinued and the meeting is to be adjourned for not more than seven days. Should this occur, it is intended to initially adjourn the meeting for ten minutes, and then resume the meeting. Any nomination for the office may be withdrawn, and further nominations may be made, before or when the meeting resumes. When the meeting resumes the councillors are to vote again by secret ballot as if they were electors voting at an election.

The Chief Executive Officer is to declare and give notice of the result in accordance with regulation 11F of the Local Government (Constitution) Regulations 1998.

The Chief Executive Officer conducted an election for the position of Shire President for a term of two years.

The Chief Executive Officer advised that prior to the meeting he had received one written nomination for the position of Shire President for Cr Tracy Lefroy.

There being no further nominations the Chief Executive Officer closed the nominations and declared Cr Lefroy elected as Shire President for a term of two years expiring in October 2025.

SWEARING IN OF PRESIDENT

Section 2.29 of the Local Government Act 1995 requires a person who has been elected as the Shire President to make a declaration in the prescribed form before acting in the office. The declaration is to be made before a person before whom a statutory declaration can be made under the Oaths, Affidavits and Statutory Declarations Act 2005. Ms Cynthia Brassington JP to officiate for this purpose.

Cr Lefroy made the declaration required by Section 2.29 of the Local Government Act 1995 before Ms Cynthia Brassington JP.

Councillor Lefroy as Shire President assumed the chair.

4. <u>ELECTION OF DEPUTY PRESIDENT</u>

The procedure for electing a Deputy President is set out in Schedule 2.3, Division 2, of the Local Government Act 1995. The election is to be conducted as the next matter following the election of the President, at the first meeting of the Council after an ordinary election, with the Council to elect a councillor to fill the office for a two-year term.

The President will act as the Returning Officer for this election. Nominations for the office are to be received in writing to the President before the meeting, or during the meeting before the close of nominations. Nominations close at the meeting at a time announced by the President.

The President is to declare and give notice of the result in accordance with regulation 11F of the Local Government (Constitution) Regulations 1998.

The Shire President conducted an election for the position of Deputy President for a term of two years. She advised that the Chief Executive Officer had received a written nomination for Cr Gilbert prior to the meeting.

The Shire President called for any further nominations. There being no further nominations, the Shire President closed the nominations and declared Cr Gilbert elected as Deputy President for a term of two years expiring in October 2025.

SWEARING IN OF DEPUTY PRESIDENT

Section 2.29 of the Local Government Act 1995 requires a person who has been elected as the Deputy President to make a declaration in the prescribed form before acting in the office. The declaration is to be made before a person before whom a statutory declaration can be made under the Oaths, Affidavits and Statutory Declarations Act 2005. Ms Cynthia Brassington JP officiates for this purpose.

Cr Gilbert made the declaration required by Section 2.29 of the Local Government Act 1995 before Ms Cynthia Brassington JP.

5. **PUBLIC QUESTION TIME**

Nil

6. PETITIONS / DEPUTATIONS / PRESENTATIONS

Nil

7. <u>APPLICATIONS FOR LEAVE OF ABSENCE</u>

Nil

8. ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE PRESIDING MEMBER

Acknowledgement of Local Government Election Results

The President acknowledged the election of Councillors Gilbert, Clydesdale-Gebert, and Dugan and their swearing in ceremony conducted by Ms Cynthia Brassington, Justice of the Peace prior to the Special Council Meeting.

The President welcomed the incoming Councillors and acknowledged the contribution of former elected member, Lyn Hamilton.

9. **CLOSURE OF MEETING**

There being no further business, the Shire President declared the meeting closed at 5.36pm.

CONFIRMED

PRESIDING MEMBER