### **SHIRE OF MOORA**

# SECOND SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES 5 NOVEMBER 2019

HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS, MOORA

#### **TABLE OF CONTENTS**

ı.	DECLARATION OF OPENING	2
2.	ATTENDANCE / APOLOGIES / APPROVED LEAVE OF ABSENCE	2
3.	SECOND VOTE FOR THE ELECTION OF THE DEPUTY PRESIDENT FOR 2019-20	21
		2
4.	CLOSURE OF MEETING	3

#### I. <u>DECLARATION OF OPENING</u>

The President declared the Second Special Council meeting of 5 November 2019 open at 3.50pm and welcomed visitors.

#### 2. ATTENDANCE / APOLOGIES / APPROVED LEAVE OF ABSENCE

#### **ATTENDANCE**

KM Seymour President TL Lefroy Councillor DV Clydesdale-Gebert Councillor El Hamilton Councillor PJ Bellamy Councillor **IM** Thomas Councillor S| Gilbert Councillor MR Holliday Councillor

Al Leeson - Chief Executive Officer

DK Trevaskis - Deputy Chief Executive Officer

JL Greay - Manager Engineering Services

NM Beard - Manager Community Development & Visitor Servicing

MM Murray - Executive Support Officer (minute taker)

#### **MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC**

Cynthia McMorran AM JP Shire Freeman

Matt Humphreys Kristy Bezuidenhout Luke Jackson

## 3. <u>SECOND VOTE FOR THE ELECTION OF THE DEPUTY PRESIDENT FOR 2019-</u> 2021

The Chief Executive Officer, as Returning Officer conducted the meeting from this point.

The Chief Executive Officer advised that in the previous Special Council Meeting earlier in the afternoon, the election for the position of Deputy President resulted in a tied vote. In accordance, with Schedule 2.3 clause 9(1) of the *Local Government Act 1995*, the purpose of this Special Council Meeting was to cast votes for the second time for the position of Deputy President.

The Chief Executive Officer advised that the process relating to the election of the Deputy President had been detailed in the Agenda.

For the benefit of those in attendance the Chief Executive Officer then explained the following procedure for the second vote in the election of the Deputy President:

- 1. Nominations for the Office of Deputy President are to be received in writing on the form provided.
- 2. The names of Candidates for the position of Deputy President shall be placed inside the blue spherical balls to draw for positions on the ballot paper.
- 3. Where there is more than one nomination, there will be a secret ballot, conducted as if elected members were electors voting at an election.

- 4. The Chief Executive Officer, with support from the Deputy CEO will count the ballot papers to determine the result. The result of the second vote shall be disclosed.
- 5. In the event of a second tied vote, the Chief Executive Officer will place the names of the tied candidates in a receptacle and draw out a name which shall be declared elected to the position of Deputy President, in accordance with Schedule 2.3 clause 9(1) of the Local Government Act 1995, and Regulation 77(a) of the Local Government Elections Regulation 1997.

The Chief Executive Officer called for nominations for the second vote for the office of Deputy President. The Chief Executive Officer advised that two written nominations had been received, for Cr Phil Bellamy and Cr Tracy Lefroy. There being no further nominations, the Chief Executive Officer closed the nominations and declared an election would be held.

The Chief Executive Officer placed the names of the two nominees inside the blue spherical balls to draw for positions on the ballot paper. At the conclusion of the draw, Cr Phil Bellamy was drawn as position number I and Cr Tracy Lefroy as position number 2 on the ballot paper.

The Chief Executive Officer declared that the election for Deputy President would be conducted, with the Executive Support Officer providing ballot papers for Elected Members to complete and place in the ballot box. When all votes had been cast the Chief Executive Officer and Deputy Chief Executive Officer counted the votes and the results were announced: Cr Lefroy received five votes and Cr Bellamy received three votes.

The Chief Executive Officer declared Cr Lefroy elected as Deputy Shire President for a term of two years expiring in October 2021.

#### **SWEARING IN OF DEPUTY PRESIDENT**

Section 2.29 of the Local Government Act 1995 requires a person who has been elected as the Deputy President to make a declaration in the prescribed form before acting in the office. The declaration is to be made before a person before whom a statutory declaration can be made under the Oaths, Affidavits and Statutory Declarations Act 2005. Mrs Cynthia McMorran AM JP officiates for this purpose.

Cr Lefroy made the declaration required by Section 2.29 of the Local Government Act 1995 before Mrs Cynthia McMorran, AM JP.

#### 4. **CLOSURE OF MEETING**

There being no further business, the President declared the meeting closed at 4.01pm.

#### **CONFIRMED**

#### PRESIDING MEMBER