SHIRE OF MOORA

SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES 5 NOVEMBER 2019

HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS, MOORA

TABLE OF CONTENTS

I.	DECLARATION OF OPENING	2
2.	ATTENDANCE & APOLOGIES	2
3.	ELECTION OF PRESIDENT	2
4.	ELECTION OF DEPUTY PRESIDENT	3
5.	CLOSURE OF MEETING	4

DECLARATIONS BY NEWLY ELECTED COUNCILLORS

Prior to the commencement of the meeting Mrs Cynthia McMorran AM JP officiated the swearing in and declarations made by those Councillors elected at the Ordinary Election on Saturday 19 October 2019 as required by Section 2.29 of the Local Government Act 1995.

I. DECLARATION OF OPENING

The Chief Executive Officer officially declared the meeting open at 3.15pm welcomed visitors and assumed the chair until the election of the President.

2. ATTENDANCE & APOLOGIES

ATTENDANCE

KM Seymour Councillor Councillor TL Lefroy DV Clydesdale-Gebert Councillor El Hamilton Councillor PJ Bellamy Councillor JM Thomas Councillor S| Gilbert Councillor MR Holliday Councillor

Al Leeson - Chief Executive Officer

DK Trevaskis - Deputy Chief Executive Officer
JL Greay - Manager Engineering Services

NM Beard - Manager Community Development & Visitor Servicing

MM Murray - Executive Support Officer (minute taker)

MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC

Cynthia McMorran AM IP Shire Freeman

Matt Humphreys Kristy Bezuidenhout Luke Jackson

3. **ELECTION OF PRESIDENT**

The procedure for electing a President is set out in Schedule 2.3, Division 1, of the Local Government Act 1995. The election is to be conducted as the first matter at the first meeting of the Council following an ordinary election.

Nominations for the office are to be received in writing to the Chief Executive Officer before the meeting, or during the meeting before the close of nominations. Nominations close at the meeting at a time announced by the Chief Executive Officer.

Councillors are to vote on the matter by secret ballot as if they were electors voting at an election. The votes cast are to be counted, and the successful candidate determined in accordance with Schedule 4.1.

If two or more candidates receive the same number of votes, so that no candidate has the greatest number of votes, the count is to be discontinued and the meeting is to be adjourned for not more

than seven days. Should this occur, it is intended to initially adjourn the meeting for ten minutes, and then resume the meeting. Any nomination for the office may be withdrawn, and further nominations may be made, before or when the meeting resumes. When the meeting resumes the councillors are to vote again.

The Chief Executive Officer is to declare and give notice of the result in accordance with regulation 11F of the Local Government (Constitution) Regulations 1998.

The Chief Executive Officer conducted an election for the position of Shire President for a term of two years.

The Chief Executive Officer advised that prior to the meeting he had received one written nomination for the position of Shire President for Cr Seymour.

There being no further nominations the Chief Executive Officer closed the nominations and declared Cr Seymour elected as Shire President for a term of two years expiring in October 2021.

SWEARING IN OF PRESIDENT

Section 2.29 of the Local Government Act 1995 requires a person who has been elected as the Shire President to make a declaration in the prescribed form before acting in the office. The declaration is to be made before a person before whom a statutory declaration can be made under the Oaths, Affidavits and Statutory Declarations Act 2005. Mrs Cynthia McMorran AM JP officiates for this purpose.

Cr Seymour made the declaration required by Section 2.29 of the Local Government Act 1995 before Mrs Cynthia McMorran, AM JP.

Councillor Seymour as Shire President assumed the chair.

4. **ELECTION OF DEPUTY PRESIDENT**

The Deputy President needs to be elected from within Council for a two-year term, as the first course of business, with the appointment expiring at the October 2021 Ordinary Election.

Schedule 2.3, Division 2 of the Local Government Act 1995 sets out a procedure, which is essentially the same as that for electing the President. The election is to be conducted as the next matter following the election of the President, at the first meeting of the Council after an ordinary election.

The President will act as the Returning Officer for this election. Nominations for the office are to be received in writing to the President before the meeting, or during the meeting before the close of nominations. Nominations close at the meeting at a time announced by the President.

If, when the votes cast are counted, there is an equality of votes between two or more candidates who are the only candidates in, or remaining in, the count, the count is to be discontinued and, not more than seven days later, a special meeting of the Council is to be held. Any nomination for the office may be withdrawn and further nominations may be made, before or when the special meeting is held. When the special meeting is held, the Councillors are to vote again on the matter by secret ballot as if they were voting at an election.

The Shire President conducted an election for the position of Deputy President for a term of two years. He advised that three written nominations had been received, for Cr Tracy Lefroy, Cr Phil Bellamy, and Cr Lyn Hamilton prior to the meeting.

The Shire President called for any further nominations. There being no further nominations, the Shire President closed the nominations and declared an election would be held. The Shire President requested the Chief Executive Officer conduct the election.

The Chief Executive Officer placed the names of the three nominees inside the blue spherical balls to draw for positions on the ballot paper. At the conclusion of the draw, Cr Phil Bellamy was drawn as position number I and Cr Tracy Lefroy as position number 2 and Cr Lyn Hamilton as position number 3 on the ballot paper.

Individually Councillors then cast their vote in secret behind the voting screen provided.

All votes were counted resulting in 3 votes for Cr Bellamy, and 3 votes for Cr Lefroy, and 2 votes for Cr Hamilton.

Given the equal number of votes the meeting was discontinued.

5. **CLOSURE OF MEETING**

There being no further business, the President declared the meeting closed at 3.34pm.

CONFIRMED

PRESIDING MEMBER