SHIRE OF MOORA MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS, MOORA I NOVEMBER 2017

TABLE OF CONTENTS

I.	DECLARATIONS BY NEWLY ELECTED COUNCILLORS	. 2
2.	DECLARATION OF OPENING BY CEO / ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS	. 2
	2.1 DECLARATION OF OPENING	. 2
	2.2 DISCLAIMER READING	. 2
3.	ELECTION OF SHIRE PRESIDENT	. 2
4.	ELECTION OF DEPUTY SHIRE PRESIDENT	. 2
5.	ATTENDANCE / APOLOGIES / APPROVED LEAVE OF ABSENCE	. 3
6	CLOSURE OF MEETING	3

I. <u>DECLARATIONS BY NEWLY ELECTED COUNCILLORS</u>

At the commencement of the meeting Mrs Cynthia McMorran JP officiated the swearing in and declarations made by those Councillors elected unopposed at the Ordinary Election on Saturday 21 October 2017 as required by Section 2.29 of the Local Government Act 1995.

Councillors Phil Bellamy, Denise Clydesdale-Gebert, Tracy Lefroy, Ken Seymour and Julie Thomas completed their declarations before Mrs Cynthia McMorran, AM JP in the Council Chambers at 3.01pm.

2. DECLARATION OF OPENING BY CEO / ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS

2.1 DECLARATION OF OPENING

The Chief Executive Officer declared the meeting open at 3.11pm, welcomed visitors and assumed the chair until the election of the Shire President.

2.2 DISCLAIMER READING

No responsibility whatsoever is implied or accepted by the Shire of Moora for any act, omission or statement or intimation occurring during this meeting.

It is strongly advised that persons do not act on what is heard at this meeting and should only rely on written confirmation of Council's decision, which will be provided within fourteen (14) days of this meeting.

3. <u>ELECTION OF SHIRE PRESIDENT</u>

The Chief Executive Officer conducted an election for the position of Shire President for a term of two years.

The Chief Executive Officer advised that prior to the meeting he had received one written nomination for the position of Shire President for Cr Seymour.

There being no further nominations the Chief Executive Officer closed the nominations and declared Cr Seymour elected as Shire President for a term of two years.

Cr Seymour made the declaration required by Section 2.29 of the Local Government Act 1995 before Mrs Cynthia McMorran, AM JP.

Councillor Seymour as Shire President assumed the chair.

4. <u>ELECTION OF DEPUTY SHIRE PRESIDENT</u>

The Shire President conducted an election for the position of Deputy Shire President for a term of two years. He advised that two written nominations had been received, for Cr Louise House and Cr Tracy Humphry prior to the meeting.

The Shire President called for any further nominations. There being no further nominations the Shire President closed the nominations and declared an election would be held. The Shire President requested the Chief Executive Officer conduct the election.

The Chief Executive Officer placed the names of the two nominees inside the blue spherical balls to draw for positions on the ballot paper. At the conclusion of the draw, Cr House was drawn as position number I and Cr Humphry as position number 2 on the ballot paper.

Individually Councillors then cast their vote in secret behind the voting screen provided.

All votes were counted resulting in 6 votes for Cr House, and 3 votes for Cr Humphry. The Chief Executive Officer then declared Cr House elected as Deputy President for a term of two years.

Cr House then made the declaration required by Section 2.29 of the Local Government Act 1995 before Mrs Cynthia McMorran, AM JP.

5. ATTENDANCE / APOLOGIES / APPROVED LEAVE OF ABSENCE

ATTENDANCE

KM Seymour - Presiding Member / President LC House - Councillor / Deputy President

TG Humphry - Councillor
DV Clydesdale-Gebert - Councillor
PF Nixon - Councillor
El Hamilton - Councillor
PJ Bellamy - Councillor
TL Lefroy - Councillor
JM Thomas - Councillor

A Leeson - Chief Executive Officer

DT Trevaskis - Deputy Chief Executive Officer

JL Greay - Manager Engineering Services

P Williams - Manager Development Services

MM Murray - Executive Support Officer (minute taker)

PUBLIC

Cynthia McMorran AM |P - Freeman

6. **CLOSURE OF MEETING**

There being no further business, the Presiding Member declared the meeting closed at 3.26pm.

CONFIRMED

PRESIDING MEMBER